Blow

I know I will never write that great Russian novel.

I cannot find my inner Tolstoy nor Dostoevsky.

I know I will probably never write a novel.

I’m too busy seeing the tree from the woods.

Even short stories may be beyond me.

A clutch of ten does not a short story writer make.

The most I will ever write is a poem.

I send them off.

The postman comes but not for me.

Epigrams. I’m good at epigrams.

Oscar Wilde wrote a few. So did Groucho Marx.

But they were already famous.

I don’t really want to write a poem about not blowing my own trumpet but it seems that’s what I’m doing.

2 thoughts on “Blow

  1. How can you say a book of ten short stories does not a short story writer make?

    Some very famous writers are remembered mainly for just a small number 9or a few lines) of their works, eg Wordsworth, and I am sure you can think of many more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

