Laughing Maniacally

 

My neighbour leapt up from his chair, holding a newspaper aloft in his left hand and pointing at a circular puzzle at the centre of the page began laughing maniacally. I poked my head over the fence. What’s up? I asked. I solved it, I solved it, he said, doing a little dance. Solved what? I asked. The Focus Word, he replied, pointing again to the puzzle. Bev and I have spent the last two days on it and I just cracked it. Whoo hoo.

I asked him what a Focus Word is. It’s a word puzzle, he said. You’re given nine letters all jumbled and you have to make a word out of them. A single nine letter word.

What were the letters? I asked. indigmennp, he said. Don’t look it up. That’s a rule we have. No cheating. You solve it yourself — or don’t.

6 thoughts on “Laughing Maniacally

  1. I got it! I got it, in 15 seconds – but then, I do a 4-word + 1 solution Word Jumble every day. Dick Cavett had one of those minds where he could solve a sentence-long jumble in under 5 seconds. 🙂

    Like

  2. Do Carolyn do. Caty first thought of ‘impinge’. That wasn’t it. It was one letter short. Shake the letters around and see what you come up with. It took us two days so don’t feel too bad. Let me know how you fare 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

